Skip to content →

Roger Grekin Research Award

Roger Grekin Research Award

Grekin Photo

Dr. Roger Grekin served for 40 years at the VA Ann Arbor Healthcare System. He passed away on September 29, 2015. VERAM and the VA Ann Arbor Healthcare System Research Service have created the Roger Grekin Research Award in honor of a remarkable VA Ann Arbor clinical endocrinologist, researcher, educator and leader. This award is funded by donations from colleagues and friends, honoring the memory of Dr. Grekin’s profound commitment to service.

Leadership positions Dr. Grekin held included Chief of the Endocrine Section for 26 years and Assistant Chief of the Medical Section for 7 years. From 1989 until 2014, he was Associate Chief of Staff for Research at VAAAHS. He initiated the incorporation of VERAM in 1991 and was the Secretary/Treasurer of the VERAM Board of Directors until his retirement in May 2014. After his retirement from the VA, Dr. Grekin kindly agreed to continue to serve as a non-statutory Board Member.

He was known for his compassion, intellect, humility, and deep devotion to patients, colleagues, students and friends. Dr. Grekin led the VA Research Program with wit and fortitude and frequently reminded his colleagues and staff to “press on regardless.” He remained constant in his reminder that patients are the reason that we do what we do. This award is intended to honor a VA researcher who has shown a commitment to the values that Dr. Grekin shared with us: a commitment to serve our nation’s Veterans through excellence in research, leadership, service, and mentoring.

The Award Ceremony will take place annually during the VA Research Week. Due to COVID-19, the award ceremony has been postponed.

Award Recipients:

2016: Rod Hayward, MD
2017: Jeffrey Curtis, MD
2018: Carol Kauffman, MD
2019: Marina Mata, MD
          Timothy Hofer, MD
2020: Grace Su, MD
2021: Eve Kerr, MD, MPH, MACP
2022: Nithya Ramnath, MBBS
2023: William Weitzel, MD
2024: Paul Pffeifer, MD, MS